Composition with Colour

A 7 track big band album (36m 50s) — released February 4th 2022 on British Progressive Jazz

Recorded live in London, March 1971.

Previously unreleased. Stereophonic sound.

John Dankworth - alto sax, clarinet

Martin Drover, Kenny Wheeler, Hank Shaw, Henry Lowther - trumpets

Mike Gibbs, David Horler - trombones

John Jenkins - tuba

Tony Cook - french horn

Don Fay, Duncan Lamont, Stan Sulzmann - sax & flutes

Bruce Graham - piano

Chris Spedding - guitar

Tony Campo - bass guitar

Kenny Clare - drums

Ray Cooper - percussion

Tracks 4,6 & 7 composed by John Dankworth. Track 1 composed by John Warren. Track 2 composed by Kenny Wheeler. Track 3 composed by Mike Gibbs. Track 5 composed by Mike Vickers.

Illustration by Piergiorgio Cupellini

Restored and mastered by Matt Parker for British Progressive Jazz

© 2022 British Progressive Jazz

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.