Suspended Moment: The Music Of Jonathan Coe (Live at JazzMi Festival, Milan, 2021) by Artchipel Orchestra & Jonathan Coe - British Progressive Jazz [BPJ019ST] FLAC download included with physical items

Suspended Moment: The Music Of Jonathan Coe (Live at JazzMi Festival, Milan, 2021)

A 5 track fusion album (54m 32s) — released June 16th 2023 on British Progressive Jazz

Jonathan Coe hoped for a career in music before becoming a celebrated novelist, playing

keyboards in various bands before What a Carve Up! established his career as a writer in

1994. The Rotters' Club, a winner of the Wodehouse Prize in 2001, got its name from the title

of an album by Hatfield and the North, giving a clue to his interest in the progressive rock

and jazz-rock fusion music of the 1970s. He has collaborated with the High Llamas, Theo

Travis and Louis Philippe, and now with Italy's brilliant Artchipel Orchestra, whose previous

projects have involved tackling the music of Soft Machine and Phil Miller.

Artchipel's members arranged and performed several of Coe's compositions at a festival in

Milan in 2021, with the writer as a guest musician. The five pieces engage the senses in a

twisty-turny Canterbury School kind of way, full of neat bits of melodic and rhythmic

invention, adroitly fleshed out by the arrangers (including Ferdinando Faraò, Artchipel's

founder and leader). Richard Williams - The Blue Moment

Recorded live at JazzMi Festival on the 30th October 2021

Recorded by Rosario Errico · Mixed by Vincenzo De Leo

Mastered by Matt Parker for British Progressive Jazz

All tracks composed by Jonathan Coe

Alto Saxophone - Andrea Ciceri

Baritone Clarinet - Alberto Zappalà

Baritone Saxophone - Rosarita Crisafi

Conductor, Arranger - Ferdinando Faraò

Drums - Stefano Lecchi

Electric Bass - Gianluca Alberti

Electric Guitar - Giuseppe Gallucci

Flute - Carlo Nicita

Keyboards - Jonathan Coe

Percussion - Lorenzo Gasperoni

Piano, Accordion - Luca Pedeferri

Soprano Saxophone - Rudi Manzoli

Tenor Saxophone - Germano Zenga

Trombone - Alberto Bolettieri

Trumpet - Marco Fior

Vibraphone - Luca Gusella

Violin - Paola Tezzon

Vocals - Francesca Sabatino, Naima Faraò

Arrangements -Francesco Forges (1 - 3), Andrea Serino (4), Beppe Barbera (5)

CD includes 8 page booklet with extensive liner notes by Jonathan Coe, Rosarita Crisafi & Richard Williams

On this live album, recorded with an excellent Italian big band, Coe plays elegant keyboards on five of his own compositions. The good news is that his melodic, prog-tinged songs sound cool and sophisticated when adapted into jazz-rock by the bandleader Ferdinando Faraò. **** - John Bungey The Times

The music is wonderful! What a band. Incredible arrangements. - Marcus Brigstocke Media personality

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.